Nominees for board elections 2023

World Physiotherapy holds elections for board members as required in accordance with the constitution. To stagger the time of elections, the member organisations agreed at the general meeting in May 2019 to stagger the terms of board members. As a result, World Physiotherapy member organisations will now elect two board members from the following regions:

  • Africa
  • Asia Western Pacific

The new board members will begin their terms on 1 July 2023 and each will serve a 4-year term from 2023-2027.

The candidates for election as regional board members are listed below.

World Physiotherapy member organisations in the relevant region are eligible to vote.


Election timetable

Vote opens: 1 June 2023

Vote closes: 29 June 2023

Vote outcome announced: 30 June 2023


Procedure for the election of a regional board member

Find out more about the procedure for the election of a regional board member


Africa region

Jean Damascene Gasherebuka

Jean Damascene Gasherebuka, member of the Rwanda Physical Therapy Organisation


Witness Mudzi

Witness Mudzi, member of the South African Society of Physiotherapy




Asia Western Pacific region

Ali Irani

Ali Irani, member of the Indian Association of Physiotherapists


Yasushi Uchiyama

Yasushi Uchiyama, member of the Japanese Physical Therapy Association


Jon Warren

Jon Warren, member of Physiotherapy New Zealand