Europe region elects executive committee members

Representatives of World Physiotherapy member organisations in the Europe region have elected a new executive committee.

Of 44 member organisations in the region, a majority were represented at the general meeting, 19-20 May 2022, in Prague. It was the first time the region’s general meeting took place in-person since 2018. The president of the Ukrainian Association of Physical Therapy joined the meeting by video call at the start of the meeting to share experiences of the situation in Ukraine.

Elections took place at the general meeting for two positions, chair and executive committee member. The following people were elected:

Esther-Mary D’Arcy, member of Irish Society of Chartered Physiotherapists

Executive committee member
Katri Partanen, member of Finnish Association of Physiotherapists

Esther-Mary was re-elected to the executive committee. Katri and Esther-Mary join the other executive committee members: Carmen Suárez, member of Spanish Association of Physiotherapists, Tim Németh, member of Axxon, Physical Therapy in Belgium, and Maria-Louisa Busuttil, member of Malta Association of Physiotherapists. The new executive committee started its term on 21 May 2022.

The Europe region general meeting also made awards to a number of physiotherapists recognising their role and contribution to the physiotherapy community in the region.

Natalie Beswetherick, member of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
Roland Craps, member of Axxon, Physical Therapy in Belgium

Nirit Rotem Lehrer, member of Israeli Association of Physiotherapists
Brona Fullen, member of Irish Society of Chartered Physiotherapists
David Gorria, former Europe region general secretary 

Back to the listing